Curriculum Leader Award

MCLA 2017 Maine Curriculum Leader of the Year

Nominations are open until April 14, 2017!

The Maine Curriculum Leaders’ Association invites nominations for the 2017 Maine Curriculum Leader of the Year through April 14, 2017. Curriculum Leaders of the Year receive free MCLA membership and conference attendance, serve on MCLA’s board of directors for the year, and are recognized by Educate Maine at their annual luncheon.

The Curriculum Leader of the Year:

  1. Has successfully served as a curriculum leader (designated curriculum director, assistant superintendent, or teacher leader) in public education for at least five years.
  2. Is a member of MCLA at the time of nomination.
  3. Is a proven champion of curriculum, instruction, and assessment policies and practices that enhance learning both within and outside the district, who also:
  • Promotes and provides opportunities to learn and to share learning.
  • Develops partnerships and networks with other districts and organizations to support learning.

To nominate a curriculum leader, send MCLA’s CLOY selection committee a recommendation letter describing how your nominee is a champion of learning (criterion 3 above) both in and outside the district. Provide details about how the nominee’s curriculum, instruction, and assessment leadership impacts teachers and students in the district and the nominee’s leadership activities outside the district. Please include email and phone contact information for you and your nominee.

Email nomination letters as a Microsoft word compatible or pdf file to with “CLOY” in the subject line. 

The Curriculum Leader of the Year is selected by previous awardees and by MCLA’s board of directors. Finalists will be notified in early April and invited to provide the selection committee with additional information. The 2017 Curriculum Leader of the Year will be named in June 2017.

Download a one-page description of the 2017 process.

awardCLOY Recipients

  • Peter Lancia, Westbrook (2016)
  • Deb McIntyre, RSU 3 (2015)
  • Shelly Mogul, Auburn (2014)
  • Mary Giard, RSU 22 (2013)
  • Jan Goldsberry, Sanford (2012)
  • Diana Doiron, Maine Department of Education (2011)
  • Dr. Judith Pusey, Old Town (2010)
  • Dr. Carol Marcotte, RSU 23 (2009)
  • Joanne Harriman, Mt. Desert (2008)
  • Karoldene Barnes, RSU 64 (2007)